Wednesday , June 29 2022
Home / The News Today / Parliament approves 15 new cities for Uganda

Parliament approves 15 new cities for Uganda

Mbale town to get city status

Effective 1st July 2020
✔Arua City
✔Gulu City
✔Jinja City
✔Mbarara City
✔Fort Portal City
✔Mbale City
✔Masaka City

July 1, 2021
☑Hoima City

July 1, 2022
☑Entebbe and Lira Cities

July 1, 2023
☑ Moroto, Nakasongola, Soroti, Kabale and Wakiso Cities


Kampala, Uganda | THE INDEPENDENT | Parliament has today voted for the creation of 15 new cities in the country.

The cities to be created over four years are Jinja, Mbarara, Fort Portal, Masaka, Mbale, Arua, Gulu, Hoima, Lira ,Soroti, Entebbe, Moroto, Nakasongola, Kabale and Wakiso.

With a majority of 312 votes out of 313, MPs voted for the Motion for resolution of Parliament on alteration of boundaries under Art 179(1) A of the Constitution and declaration of cities under Section 7(2a) of the Local Gov’t Act.

Only Sarah Opendi from Tororo voted against the motion, saying that the recent budget that was passed by parliament for FY 2020/21 does not fully address the demands of some of the Local governments, Districts and Municipalities.

Uganda Parliament Motion on… by The Independent Magazine on Scribd


  1. Thanks alot for widening the market base for many educationists this will now enabling to adecrease in unemployment as unbalanced regional development in the country thanks alot such agreat kind of future forecast…

  2. Andrua Ariaka Francis

    Thanks alot is going to job opportunity

  3. Although people will get jobs,they will have to buy the jobs if not the westerns will be the one to get jobs first

  4. shall there be finance to manage the cities? sometimes we get excited without deeper financial analysis that is why politicians/ managers will always disagree with accountants

  5. Nice but their should be apolicy of removing old houses e.g soroti main street

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *