Wednesday , September 23 2020
Home / SPORTS / Kiprop 14th as Ethiopians sweep Boston Marathon
Covid-19 Image

Kiprop 14th as Ethiopians sweep Boston Marathon

New York, United States | AFP |

Lemi Berhanu Hayle and Atsede Baysa led an Ethiopian clean sweep at the Boston Marathon on Monday with victory in the men’s and women’s races of the prestigious event. Uganda’s Jackson Kiprop started well but finished 14th.

Hayle clinched victory in the men’s race in a time of 2hr 12min 44sec, coming home ahead of compatriot and defending champion Lelisa Desisa in second. Another Ethiopian, Yemane Adhane Tsegay was third in 2:14.02.

Baysa meanwhile won a pulsating women’s race, producing a late charge over the final few miles to win in 2:29.19.

The 29-year-old had lagged by nearly 40 seconds at around the 22-mile mark but then moved through the gears to build a five-second lead over Tirfi Tsegaye after 25 miles.

Tsegaye eventually finished second in 2:30.03 with Joyce Chepkirui of Kenya third in 2:14.02.

Kiprop 14th

Uganda’s Jackson Kiprop was in the lead pack of the marathon early, but could only finish in 14th place in 2:24:44, far outside his best time of 2:09:32. It could not be immediately confirmed what caused his setback in the final third of the race.

He is one of six athletes vying for the four places on the Uganda marathon team to the Olympics. Top on the list is Olympic Champion Stephen Kiprotich.

Men                     Country    Prize

  1. Lemi Berhanu Hayle (ETH), 2:12:45, $150,000
    Lelisa Desisa (ETH), 2:13:32, $75,000
    Yemane Tsegaye (ETH), 2:14:02, $40,000
    Wesley Korir (KEN), 2:14:05, $25,000
    Paul Lonyangata (KEN), 2:15:45, $15,000
    Sammy Kitwara (KEN), 2:16:43, $12,000
    Stephen Chebogut (KEN), 2:16:52, $9,000
    Abdi Nageeye (NED), 2:18:05, $7,400
    Getu Feleke (ETH), 2:18:46, $5,700
    Zachary Hine (USA), 2:21:37, $4,200
    Cutbert Nyasango (ZIM), 2:22:02, $2,600
    Tsegaye Mekonnen (ETH), 2:22:21, $2,100
    Ian Burrell (USA), 2:22:22, $1,800
    Jackson Kiprop (UGA), 2:24:44, $1,700
    Harbert Okuti (UGA), 2:24:46, $1,500
    Solonei Da Silva (BRA), 2:24:54
    Clint Wells (USA), 2:24:55
    Nori Kamijo (JPN), 2:25:31
    Shingo Igarashi (JPN), 2:26:24

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *