Wednesday , December 2 2020
Home / NEWS / Deputy IGP, four AIGPs take oath as new police council members

Deputy IGP, four AIGPs take oath as new police council members

Maj Gen Muzeyi Sabiiti being sworn in as a new member of  Police Council. PHOTO via @PoliceUg

Kampala, Uganda | THE INDEPENDENT | The Deputy Inspector General of Police, Maj Gen Muzeyi Sabiiti and four Assistant Inspector Generals of Police –AIGPs has taken oath as new members of the Police council.

The members were sworn- in at an event overseen by the Inspector General of Police, John Martins Okoth Ochola on behalf of Internal Affairs Minister, Gen Jeje Odongo.

AIGPs sworn in are the four Uganda People’s Defence Force –UPDF officers President Museveni appointed to the Uganda Police Force –UPF in July. These include Brig Jack Bakasumba, Chief of Joint Staff, Brig Godfrey Golooba, director Human Resource Development and Training, Col Jesse Kamunanwire, director Human Resource Management and Col Chris Damulira, director Crime Intelligence.

The last time the police council convened was in February 2018 during the reign of then IGP Gen Kale Kayihura at Police marine base at Kigo, in Wakiso district.

This is the 25th session in the 24 years since Police Council was established.

The council’s major roles include deliberating matters related to police force and its personnel, issues arising out of police officers’ unprofessionalism or misconduct, observance of human rights and policing challenges in regard to crime trends.

Apart from Sabiiti, Golooba, Ddamulira, Bakasumba and Kamunanwire, 34 other officers ranging from the ranks of Commissioner of Police –CP to Sergeants –Sgt were also sworn in to fill gaps of officers who have since retired or died.

Ochola in his remarks reminded all officers sworn in to always protect whatever is deliberated in Police Council but also to ensure that concerns of their colleagues are always efficiently presented.

Senior officials that graced the event include Senior Technical Advisor at Justice Law and Order Sector –JLOS Rachael Odoi, embattled Logistics and Engineering director AIGP Grace Bangirana, Criminal Investigation Director –CID AIGP Grace Akullo, Fire and Emergency Rescue director –AIGP Joseph Mugisa and Director Sports and General Duties –AIGP Andrew Soroweni.

Other top police bosses that were present include Interpol Director- AIGP Moses Balimwoyo, Peace Support Director –AIGP Grace Turyagumanawe, AIGP John Ndungutse, Traffic director AIGP Dr Steven Kasiima and Chief Police Commissar AIGP Asan Kasingye.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *