Tuesday , January 31 2023
Home / NEWS / Why Zimbabwean Chinhoi will not want Uganda Pro Golf history to repeat itself

Why Zimbabwean Chinhoi will not want Uganda Pro Golf history to repeat itself

Zimbabwean Chinhoi, struck 69 yesterday, to take a 3 stroke lead . PHOTOS PIVOT MEDIA

πŸ’  DAY 1 leaderboard
1⃣ R Chinhoi πŸ‡ΏπŸ‡Ό 69 (-3)
2️⃣ D Indiza πŸ‡°πŸ‡ͺ 72
3️⃣ S Njoroge πŸ‡°πŸ‡ͺ 72
4⃣ N Muyambo πŸ‡ΏπŸ‡Ό 73
5⃣ N Ngugi πŸ‡°πŸ‡ͺ 73
6⃣ R Owitti πŸ‡°πŸ‡ͺ73

7. G Kasango πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡¬ 73
8. R Rugumayo πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡¬ 73
9. K Bako 73 πŸ‡³πŸ‡¬
10. V Mapwanya πŸ‡ΏπŸ‡Ό 73


Kigo, Uganda | PHILLIP CORRY & LOUIS JADWONG | Robson Chinhoi has started the Uganda Professional Golf Open exactly the way he did last year. In 2021, he again started very well – actually one shot better than his 69 yesterday.

The Zimbabwean ace followed it up with a stunning 64 on Day 2, but that is where the story ended.

Two 73 scores followed as he handed his title to Kenya’s Jastas Madoya, ending up 3rd overall.

Chinhoi will seek to erase these memories at Lake Victoria Serena Golf Resort & Spa course with a consitent score, not on only two days, but over the next three.

Already in trouble, even though he thinks otherwise, is defending champion Jastas Madoya, who starts day two at the 17th Uganda Open Pro Golf Championships, 12 strokes off the pace (+9).

“I am here to reclaim my title despite today’s score. I lost a few balls in the water but will erase my day 1 score. My golf will start after the cut,” Madoya warned.

Chinhoi lines his putt.

It is the second time that this event returns to this championship course with the last winner of this tour at this picturesque facility being Zambian Madalisto Muthiya, who is a well established Pro on the South African Sunshine tour.

Ugandan Professionals who have struggled to find their feet on the East African tour and beyond will have to up their ante on home soil again. The last Ugandan winner was Deo Akope in 2014.

The prize fund or Kitty for this tournament is sh97.5 million, with the overall winner walking away with 21 million shillings.

The pro event is part of the Absa sponsored East Africa Safari Tour and the first leg of 2022-2023 lucrative Pro tour.

✳ Prize money – top 10

1st – Shs 21,000,000/=
2nd – Shs 14,000,000/=
3rdΒ  – Shs 8,460,000/=
4th – Shs. 6, 250,000/=
5th – Shs 5,000,000/=
6thΒ  – Shs 4,170,000/=
7th – Shs. 3,570,000/=
8th – Shs. 3,130,000/=
9thΒ  – Shs. 2,278,000/=
10th – Shs. 2,500,000/=

✳ Winners of Pro Open since 2006:
2006 – Deo Akope (Uganda)
2007 – Dismas Ndiza (Kenya)
2008 – Dismas Ndiza (Kenya)
2009 – Richard Ainley (Kenya)
2010 – Dismus Ndiza (Kenya)
2011 – Dismus Ndiza (Kenya)
2012 – Dismus Ndiza (Kenya)
2013 – Vicent Byamukama (Uganda)
2014 – Deo Akope (Uganda)
2015 – Madalisto Muthiya (Zambia)
2016 – Joshua Seale (South Africa)
2017 – Stephen Ferriera (Portugal)
2018 – Dismas Indiza (Kenya)
2019 – Madalisto Muthiya (Zambia)
2020 – Robson Chinhoi (Zimbabwe)
2021- Jastas Madoya (Kenya)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *