Monday , February 19 2018
Home / The News Today / NRM: Flag-bearers are Kadaga and Oulanya

NRM: Flag-bearers are Kadaga and Oulanya

PHOTOGRAPHS: The ruling National Resistance Movement (NRM) has today confirmed that they will second to parliament the return of Speaker Rebecca Kadaga (left) and Deputy Jacob Oulanya. Kadaga and Oulanya will be the NRM flag-bearers.

Speaker and deputy

Oulanya 1


Kampala, TUESDAY

CEC group photo after their deliberations last night. PHOTO BY PPU
IN AGREEMENT: CEC photo after their deliberations Monday night. PHOTOGRAPHS BY PPU

The Central Executive Committee (CEC) of the ruling party NRM Monday night decided to maintain the status quo in parliament, retaining Rebecca Kadaga as speaker, with Jacob Oulanya as her deputy, reports indicate.

“The general consensus in CEC last night was that we retain Kadaga as speaker and Oulanya continues as deputy speaker,” a very reliable source told The Independent early Tuesday.

The first indication that a decision had been taken Monday night, came Tuesday afternoon when Oulanya picked forms from the NRM secretariat to contest for the position of Deputy Speaker.

If the Monday decision is confirmed, it will bring to a halt what was becoming a bitter race for the top job in parliament. It will also virtually end the hopes of many, including  Muhammed Nsereko and Theodore Ssekikuubo, who had shown interest in the post of Deputy Speaker.

Others who had shown interest are David Bahati, Denis Hamson Obua, Jovia Kamateka and Monica Amoding .

Later, a press statement from the NRM national Chairman President Yoweri Museveni said that CEC will table their speaker recommendation to the Parliamentary caucus on May 5, 2016.

“The Central Executive Committee of the National Resistance Movement has agreed on the way forward on the position of Speaker and Deputy of parliament respectively after a meeting held at State House in Entebbe yesterday,” the statement said.

“The Central Executive Committee (CEC) of the ruling National Resistance Movement  (NRM) met under the chairmanship of H.E Yoweri Kaguta Museveni and agreed on the way forward on the issue of Speaker and Deputy Speaker of parliament. The recommendations will be presented to parliamentary caucus on 5th of May 2016,” the statement said.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *