Tuesday , July 5 2022
Home / NEWS / Local council chairpersons in Manafwa return stamps over non payment

Local council chairpersons in Manafwa return stamps over non payment

Local council chairpersons return stamps at the sub-county office. Courtesy photo

Manafwa, Uganda | THE INDEPENDENT | Local council one and two chairpersons in Kaato sub county, Manafwa district have returned stamps to the sub county over non-payment of their annual allowances.

While handing over the stamps back to the sub county chiefs on Thursday, the 33 chairpersons said they have gone two years without being paid their allowances.

Kaato was carved out of Bwagogo sub county in 1999 and consists of 15 villages and 5 parishes.

The sub-county later in 2015 created more than 33 villages and 3 parishes to extend services nearer to the people.  Each chairperson was supposed to receive 120,000 Shillings per year.

According to chairpersons like Tefilo Twaale of Nasonga village, Daudi Kutosi of Shiluku Parish, Stephen Kimanayi of Nabuta village among others, they say that they have not been paid for three years despite being legally elected in office.

Norine Kakayi, the Kaato sub county chief accepted to keep the stamps until further notice. She faulted the central government for not fulfilling its promise of paying the chairpersons allowances.

However, Elisa Kamoti Wanyenze the Kaato sub county chairperson says that out of the 48 villages and 5 parish chairpersons in the sub county, only 13 villages and 2 parish chairpersons were paid.

He promised to follow up the matter with the Ministry of Local Government and the district authorities.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *