Thursday , August 11 2022
Home / NEWS / Last batch of ex-officio ministers take oath in Parliament

Last batch of ex-officio ministers take oath in Parliament

Kiryowa Kiwanuka taking oath of allegiance and that of Member of Parliament as Attorney General. 

Kampala, Uganda | THE INDEPENDENT | The last batch of ministers has taken the oath of allegiance and oath of a Member of Parliament to formalize their presence as ex-officio members.

They were appointed to Cabinet without being elected as Members of Parliament and as ex-officio members, they do not have a right to vote on any issue requiring a vote in Parliament.

Those sworn-in on today are Attorney-General Kiryowa Kiwanuka, Minister for Presidency Babirye Milly Babalanda, Dr. Monica Musenero, the Minister Office of the President Serviced in charge of Science, Technology and Innovation, Judith Nabakooba, the Minister of Lands, Housing and Urban Development, and Evelyn Anite, the Minister of State for Finance, Planning and Economic Development (Privatization and Investment).

The others are Henry Okello Oryem, the Minister of State for Foreign Affairs (International Affairs), the Minister of State for Luwero Triangle-Rwenzori region Alice Kaboyo, Vincent Ssempijja, the Minister of Defence and Veteran Affairs and Sam Mayanja, the Minister of State for Lands.

The nine were last week sworn in as ministers by President Yoweri Museveni at an event at Kololo ceremonial grounds.

The oaths were administered by the Clerk to Parliament Jane Kibirige. They were later presented with a copy of the Constitution and Parliament rules of procedure by Deputy Speaker Anita Among.

Anita Among appealed to the ex-officio ministers to work in accordance with the Constitution and Parliament rules and also ensure delivery of services to Ugandans. Out of a total of 81 Ministers, 27 of them are ex-officio ministers.

Meanwhile, Among also confirmed the designation of different MPs to international bodies and delegations by their respective political parties. Those designated to represent Uganda at the Inter-Parliamentary Union-IPU are; Ntenjeru South MP Patrick Nsanja, Fort Portal Municipality MP Alex Ruhunda, Lamwo Woman MP Nancy Acora, Amuria Woman MP Amero Susan, Kiboga West MP Abdul Mutumba, Katerera County MP Muhammad Kato and Kassanda Woman MP Flavia Kalule.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *