Thursday , February 9 2023
Home / SPORTS / Vipers show steel to share spoils with Wakiso Giants

Vipers show steel to share spoils with Wakiso Giants

Mukundane and team celebrate Vipers equaliser. PHOTO – VIPERS SC MEDIA

Venoms return to action Friday away to Lira

⚽ Wakiso Giants FC 1-1 Vipers SC

Wakiso, Uganda  | VIPERS SC WEBSITE  | Vipers SC on Tuesday settled for a point after a 1-1 stalemate with Wakiso Giants FC in a Uganda Premier League match at the Kabaka Kyabaggu Stadium.

Hillary Mukundane’s second half goal cancelled out Ibrahim Kasule’s strike on a frustrating and rainy evening in Wakiso.

Vipers actualy had the first purposeful goalscoring opportunity of the game, but Cromwel Rwothomio’s half volley missed the target by a few inches, in the ninth minute.

Two minutes later, the hosts netted through Owen Kasule’s looping header past Alfred Macumu Mudekereza.

Yunus Sentamu was then unlucky as his 15th minute goal-bound strong header crashed against the bar.

Watambala nearly equalised in the 21st minute but his shot from distance was superbly saved by goalkeeper Samson Kirya.

A minute later, Rwothomio thought he had broken the deadlock for the Venoms, but his close range shot was thwarted by Kirya.

Vipers kickoff the second half in full gear and in the 59th minute, Mukundane took full advantage of a defensive mix-up in the box, to fire home from close range.

The team added more fire in attack and nearly added a second in the 62nd minute but, Kirya saved substitute Darcy Mbaka Kipoyi’s powerful shot.

The Venoms, who have played only four games, are now tenth with five points, and will return to action on Friday with a visit to Lira against Blacks Power FC at the Aki Bua Stadium.

How VIPERS Lined Up:

Vipers SC XI: Alfred Macumu Mudekereza (GK), Ashraf Mandela, Dissan Galiwango, Murushid Juuko, Hillary Mukundane, Siraje Ssentamu, Olivier Osomba, Karim Watambala, Milton Karisa (C), Yunus Sentamu, Cromwel Rwothomio.

Substitutions: Denis Kiggundu, Frank ‘Zaga’ Tumwesigye, Isa Mubiru, Darcy Mbaka Kipoyi, Garcia Mpongo Mbombo, Ibrahim Orit, Bashir Asiku.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *