Tuesday , May 17 2022
Home / NEWS / Twelve teams to compete in the 2021/22 FUFA Big League

Twelve teams to compete in the 2021/22 FUFA Big League

Kampala, Uganda | THE INDEPENDENT | The Federation of Uganda Football Association (FUFA) has confirmed that only 12 teams will feature in the 2021/2022 FUFA Big League season.

The development was confirmed to Uganda Radio Network (URN) by FUFA competitions director, Aisha Nalule who said the reason for the changes was related to failure to play the last edition of regional leagues. Normally, the Big league is comprised of 16 teams.

The 2020/21 season of FUFA regional leagues was cancelled before kick off due to the challenges of the COVID-19 pandemic. Consequently, no team was promoted to the Big league, however, the FUFA Big league season of 2020/21 was played and four teams were relegated.

The relegated teams from the FUFA Big league after completing the 2020/2021 season include; Mbale Heroes, Paidha Black Angels, Kigezi Home Boys and Terrazzo & Tiles FC.

Nalule made it clear that the FUFA Big League playoff games will be played to conclusion to determine the third team that will qualify for the Uganda Premier League. She however said all this will depend on clearance from the National Council of Sports (NCS) and guidelines from the Ministry of Health.

The four teams that will tussle it out in the playoffs include; Gadaffi FC, Nyamityobora FC, Blacks Power and Proline FC. Arua Hill SC and Tooro United FC are the two teams that have already qualified for the 2021/2022 Uganda Premier League.

The FUFA Big league is Uganda’s second tier league. The last edition of the championship was played in a tournament format where 16 teams competed in two groups named Elgon and Rwenzori.

Arua City emerged the leaders of the Elgon group with 30 points after humbling Paidha Black Angels 4-0, while Tooro United topped Rwenzori group with 31 points after overcoming Kigezi Homeboys 1-0 in final group game.

The two teams will however have to play in the finals of the championship to determine the overall winner of the league.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *