Wednesday , February 21 2018
Home / SPORTS / Stephen Kiprotich second best at Hamburg Marathon

Stephen Kiprotich second best at Hamburg Marathon

Mekonnen edged Kiprotich (in background) in the final kilometre of the Hamburg marathon. PHOTO HASPAHAMBURGMARATHON MEDIA

Uganda’s former World and Olympic Champion Stephen Kiprotich put up his best showing in three years when he finished second at the Haspa Hamburg International Marathon Sunday morning.

Ethiopia’s Tsegaye Mekonnen won the sprint to the tape (2:07:26 ), edging out Kiprotich who clocked 2:07:31. Kenya’s Jacob Kendagor was third in 2:08:50.

Kiprotich said the difficult weather conditions with wind, rain and even some hail held him back. He earned sh58 million for his effort.

“I tried but my legs could not carry me,” he said, but promised his fans “I will not let you down next time.”

Portugal’s Jessica Augusto came from behind to win the women’s race in 2:25:30.

Big City win steal eludes Kiprotich

While Kiprotich was the first Olympic champion to compete in Hamburg’s elite field, 21-year-old Tsegaye Mekonnen was the fastest runner ever entered into the race and was favourite.

The youngster has a Personal Best of 2:04:32 from winning the Dubai Marathon in January 2014, while Kiprotich’s personal best is from the Tokyo Marathon in 2015,  2:06:33. He finished 4th in Tokyo last year before 14th place in the Olympics 2:13:32.

Kiprotich,28, has won two major global titles but victory in a big city marathon is still missing so far in his running portfolio. He however did win the Enschede marathon in 2011 with 2:07:20, before his 2012 Olympic and 2013 World Championship victories.

In the build up, Kiprotich had sounded very confident – and nearly did it, but was outdone in the final 100 metres.

The elite runners, including Kiprotich, will share 300,000 Euros (Sh1.16 billion). Marathons are long-distance running races with an official distance of 42.195 kilometres, usually run as a road race.

Leading Men’s and Women’s Results and Prize Money:
(Men sub 2:09 and Women sub 2:25 to receive bonus)

1 Tsegaye Mekonnen (ETH) – 2:07:26 25k Euro
2 Stephen Kiprotich (UGA) – 2:07:31 15k Euro
3 Jacob Kandagor (KEN) – 2:08:50 10k Euro
4 Robert Chemosin (KEN) – 2:09:51 5k Euro
5 Japhet Kosgei (KEN) – 2:11:12 3k
6 Tsegaye Kebede (ETH) – 2:12:31 1k

1 Jessica Augusto (PORT) – 2:25:30 12.5k
2 Ifa Megertu (ETH) – 2:29:47 7.5k
3 Viola Kibiwot (KEN) – 2:30:33 debut 5k
4 Marisa Casananueva (ESP) – 2:32:22 pb 2.5k
5 Magdalena Shauri (TAN0 – 2:33:28 pb 1.5k
6 Adriana da Silva (BRA) – 2:35:44 500



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *