Sunday , February 25 2018
Home / News / Ssenyonga beats Ssekikubo for Buganda Caucus top job

Ssenyonga beats Ssekikubo for Buganda Caucus top job


Johnson Muyanja Ssenyonga has trounced Theodore Ssekikubo in polls for chairperson of the influential Buganda Parliamentary Caucus.

Ssenyonga, Member of Parliament (MP) for Mukono South, replaces now State minister for tourism also Mityana North MP Godfrey Kiwanda Ssuubi.

Ssenyonga was declared winner by the returning officer, also Masaka Municipality MP Mathias Mpuuga Nsamba after garnering 40 votes against  Lwemiyaga MP Ssekikubo’s 17 votes.

In his victory speech at Rider Hotel in Mukono, Ssenyonga said his victory is a vote of confidence in his leadership that dates back to when he was the Mukono Municipality mayor.

Ssenyonga said that during his two and a half year term the caucus will maintain its quest for the return of all the kingdom properties that were grabbed by the state in 1966, when Milton Obote, Uganda’s then Prime Minister abolished the Buganda kingdom.

“We appreciate the government for some of the properties that were returned like the over 80 land titles the president handed over to the Katikkiro Charles Peter Mayiga in 2015 but all the properties that were tumultuously taken from Buganda Kingdom must be returned.” said Ssemyonga.

Mpuuga has been the chairperson of the interim committee that was set up to oversee the transition process after the planned election of new leaders in July, hit a snag after several members of the caucus called for its postponement amid chaos.

The disagreements arose from the failure of the old executive to produce a satisfying report on financial management and the contradictions in the caucus constitution.

Buganda parliamentary caucus is the second largest lobby group in parliament after the NRM parliamentary caucus. It brings together members of parliament from Buganda region.

The other members include those from the East African Legislative assembly hailing from the central region.


The new vice chairperson is Nakawunde Sarah Temulanda, voted unopposed to replace Betty Nambooze Bakireke.

Other members of the executive include  Florence Namayanja Nsereko who will serve as the secretary general and  David Lukyamuzi Kalwanga treasurer.

Former Kampala Metropolitan police spokesman Simeo Nsubuga is new publicity secretary while the secretary for welfare is  Sarah Babirye Kabanda.

Paul Kato Lubwama is the secretary for cultural affairs while the secretary for mobilization is Sarah Najjuma.

State minister for micro-finance Kyeyune Haruna Kasolo is the secretary for cabinet affairs while the secretary for external relations is  Amos Lugolobi.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *