Monday , October 26 2020
Home / NEWS / NRM sets dates for residual party primary elections
Covid-19 Image

NRM sets dates for residual party primary elections

NRM Electoral Commission chairperson Dr. Tanga Odoi. File photo

Kampala, Uganda | THE INDEPENDENT | The National Resistance Movement-NRM party has set dates for holding residual party primary elections. The elections will start on September 25th and run till October 3rd 2020 in constituencies where primary elections for parliamentary candidates were postponed.

Dr. Tanga Odoi, the NRM Electoral Commission chairperson says the residual primary elections will cover categories of special interest groups, National Youth committee representatives and parliamentary candidates.

The elections will take place in Kigulu South, Mawogola North, Bukanga county, Mawogola West and Nyabushozi. The elections in Bukanga and Nyabushozi constituencies will be held in 26 and 28 villages respectively on October 2nd, 2020.

In Nyabushozi, Wilson Kajwengye is contesting against Col. Fred Mwesigye and Christopher Bakashaba.  Mwesigye was declared winner in the previous polls that were nullified. In Bukanga county, the incumbent and member of the first family Stephen Kangwagye is facing competition from Moses Mpeirwe Kashaija, Arafat Kamoga and Abel Humble Tumusiime.

The NRM electoral commission was forced to intervene after the district registrar declared wrong results. The elections in Mawogola North, Mawogola West, Bukanga county and Nyabushozi were postponed after several cases of violence and election fraud were reported.

Those battling for the Mawogola West parliament NRM party ticket are the incumbent Joseph Ssekabiito Kitayimbwa and Sembabule Woman MP Hanifa Bangirana Kawooya.

In Mawogola North, Shartis Kutesa, a daughter to Foreign Affairs Minister Sam Kutesa is running against Godfrey Aine Kaguta a brother to President Yoweri Museveni.

In Kigulu South, one of the candidates Stephen Waako died in a motor accident on polling day. He was contesting for the Kigulu South constituency NRM flag with the incumbent Andrew Kaluya, Milton Muwuma and Iganga LC V chairperson Patrick Kayemba.

Jane Babiiha, Hellen Asapo, Ambrose Atukunda and Laura Kanushu all candidates for special interest groups have hailed the NRM Electoral Commission for setting dates for the primary elections.

Laura Kanushu who is vying for the NRM PWD national woman parliamentary party card says the party commission has made arrangements to easing their voting exercise.

The other contestants for the PWD woman parliamentary NRM party card are Hellen Asapo and Jane Babiiha.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *