Thursday , August 6 2020
Home / ARTICLES 2008-2015 / NRM fires Ssekikubo and Co
Covid-19 Image

NRM fires Ssekikubo and Co

By Aloysious Kasoma

The ruling National Resistance Movement party has fired four rebel MPs and suspended one.

The MPs expelled include the Lwemiyaga MP Theodore Sekkikubo, Barnabas Tinkasimire, Muhammad Nsereko and Wilfred Niwagaba while Vicent Kyamadidi was suspended for three months.

NRM’s Central Executive Committee (CEC) on Sunday adopted the party’s disciplinary committee’s recommendation and expelled the four ‘rebel’ Members of Parliament.

The expelled MPs are accused of antagonizing the party and opposing official party positions.

They were also accused of relentlessly attacking the President in public and going against the party’s positions in Parliament.

The development comes against the backdrop of futile attempts to parade the stubborn legislators before the disciplinary committee of the party.

The ‘rebel’ MPs on several occasions defied calls to appear before the committee chaired by deputy party chairman Moses Kigongo and Amama Mbabazi.

According to the Act (Tenure of office of members of Parliament), a lawmaker shall vacate his or her seat in Parliament if he or she resigns his or her office in writing signed by him or her and addressed to the Speaker.

The ruling party is yet to come with the official statement regarding their suspension.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *