Saturday , August 20 2022
Home / The News Today / Kenyan new Great Lakes chief, Kazibwe campaigns in Luanda

Kenyan new Great Lakes chief, Kazibwe campaigns in Luanda

ICGLR leaders in a pre-summit discussion. The one-day Summit ended Tuesday in Angola
ICGLR leaders in a pre-summit chat. The one-day Summit ended Tuesday in Angola


Ambassador Zachary Muburi-Muita, Kenya’s candidate for the post of Executive Secretary of the International Conference on the Great Lakes Region (ICGLR), has been endorsed by the heads of state.

Confirmation of a new chief was one of several  ICGLR decisions taken their 6th Ordinary Heads of State and Government Summit concluded in Luanda,  Angola on Tuesday. President Yoweri Museveni attended the Summit whose theme was  “Accelerating the effective implementation of the Pact and its Protocols for a more democratic and stable Great Lakes Region”.


“We express our gratitude to the foreign ministers of ICGLR for their gracious support and for the confidence reposed on our candidate for the position,” said Kenya’s Foreign Affairs Cabinet Secretary Amina Mohamed. Muburi-Muita takes over from Ntumba Luaba, the outgoing ICGLR executive secretary.


Dr Kazibwe in Luanda

Joining the Ugandan delegation in Luanda was East Africa’s candidate for chairperson of the African Union Dr. Speciosa Wandira Kazibwe. Kazibwe is Uganda’s former Vice President.

Kazibwe flew in from Addis Ababa where she had launched her campaign to take over from Dr  Dlamini Zuma, who is not seeking another term.




Burundi – the summit agreed to support dialogue AND  asked international community to help Burundian refugees.

ADF – Democratic Republic of Congo was commended for neutralizing ADF, FDLR forces. ICGLR will back EA region’s efforts to check the ADF menace.

The summit was preceded by the meetings of ICGLR Chiefs of Defence Forces, the ICGLR Ministers of Defence  and ICGLR Ministers of Foreign Affairs. Key discussions were on security and humanitarian situation in the region.


Member states are Angola, Burundi, Central African Republic, Republic of Congo, Democratic Republic of Congo, Kenya, Uganda, Rwanda, Republic of South Sudan, Sudan, Tanzania and Zambia.





Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *