Friday , July 3 2020
Home / NEWS / Emong, Proscovia, Wokorach and Sserunkuma vie for top USPA award
Covid-19 Image

Emong, Proscovia, Wokorach and Sserunkuma vie for top USPA award

Emong (left) won the sprint finish to win gold at the World Championships in London.

Kampala, Uganda | THE INDEPENDENT | Para-Athlete David Emong, rugby star Phillip Wokorach, football ace Geoffrey Sserunkuma and queen of the netball court Peace Proscovia will vie for the Uganda Sportsperson of the Year 2017 accolade. The Nile Special awards winner will be announced at the annual Uganda Sports Press Association (USPA) gala at a later date.

The four stars were nominated by the Uganda Sports Press Association at their monthly assembly in Kampala on Monday at Imperial Royale Hotel. The journalists also voted the best in various sports categories.

Emong was nominated for his feat after winning the country’s first Paralympic gold medal while Sserunkuma got on the list for leading the goal scoring charts for champions KCCA on the local and continental level.

Proscovia led the She Cranes to Africa glory, having grabbed 130 of 270 goals the team scored on their way to the title in Kampala.

Wokorach helped Uganda defend the Africa Sevens title as Uganda qualified for the 2018 World Cup Sevens.

Emong was a runner-up for the Uganda sportsman of the year 2016 title that was awarded to footballer Denis Onyango.


Nile Special USPA Footballer of 2017 is Sserunkuma, the Male Athlete of 2017 is Emong, the Male rugby player of 2017 is Phillip Wokorach while Netballer of 2017 is Peace Proscovia.

Here is list of all the nominees and winners.

Nile Special USPA Sports Personality of the year nominees

David Emong

Phillip Wokorach

Geoffrey Sserunkuma

Peace Proscovia

 Nile Special USPA team of the year nominees

City Oilers

National Rugby 7s team

Lady Cricket Cranes

She Cranes


 Nile Special USPA best organized event of the year nominees

-FIBA Zone 5 Club Championships

-Africa Rugby 7s Championships

-Uganda Golf Open

-IAAF World Cross Championships


* USPA Female Athlete of 2017 –Josephine Lalam

Nile Special USPA Male Athlete of 2017- David Emong


Nile Special USPA Boxer of 2017 – Muzamir Kakande


Nile Special USPA Footballer of 2017- Geoffrey Sserunkuma

Nile Special USPA Female Footballer of 2017-Vanessa Edith Karungi


Nile Special USPA Rally Crew of 2017- Christakis Fitidis and Eric Nzamwita


Nile Special USPA Male golfer of 2017- Ronald Rugumayo

Nile Special USPA Female golfer of 2017- Martha Babirye


Nile Special USPA Male cricketer of 2017- Kenneth Waisswa

Nile Special USPA Female cricketer of 2017- Gertrude Chandiru


Nile Special USPA Male Pool player of 2017- Fahad Ssewankambo

Nile Special USPA Female Pool player of 2017- Victoria Namuyanja


* USPA Male Badminton player of 2017- Brian Kasirye

* USPA Female Badminton player of 2017- Husnah Kobugabe


Nile Special USPA Male Karateka of 2017- Ronald Mwanje

Nile Special USPA Female Karateka of 2017- Linda Ochen

 Table Tennis ?

Nile Special USPA Male T/Tennis player of 2017-

Nile Special USPA Female T/Tennis player 2017-

 Woodball ?

Nile Special USPA Female Woodball player of 2017-

Nile Special USPA Male Woodball player of 2017-


Nile Special USPA weightlifter of 2017- Hakim Ssempereza


Nile Special USPA Female rugby player of 2017- Samiya Ayikoru

Nile Special USPA Male rugby player of 2017- Phillip Wokorach


Nile Special USPA Male Basketballer of 2017- Jimmy Enabu

Nile Special USPA Female Basketballer of 2017-Vilma Achen


* USPA Motocross rider of 2017- Isabella Blick


Nile Special USPA Male Chess player of 2017- Patrick Kawuma

Nile Special USPA Female Chess player of 2017- Maria Nakanyike


Nile Special USPA Female Volleyballer of 2017- Margaret Namyalo

Nile Special USPA Male Volleyballer of 2017- George Aporu


Nile Special USPA Netballer of 2017-Peace Proscovia



Nile Special USPA Kickboxer of 2017-Patricia Apolot


Nile Special USPA Ludo player of 2017 –Kato Charles


Nile Special USPA Female Swimmer of 2017-Avice Meya

* USPA Male Swimmer of 2017- Tendo Mukalazi


Nile Special USPA Male Hockey player of 2017- Emmanuel Baguma

Nile Special USPA Female Hockey player of 2017- Doreen Mbabazi


Nile Special USPA Tennis player of 2017- Duncan Mugabe

Body building

Nile Special USPA bodybuilder of 2017-Isaac Mubikirwa


Nile Special USPA squash player of 2017- Michael Kawooya


Male Badminton player of the year- Brian Kasirye 16 years

Female Badminton  player of the year-Husnah Kobugabe 17 years

Motocross rider of the year- Isabella Blick 9 years

Female athlete of the year-Josephine Lalam 17 years.

Male swimmer of the year-Tendo Mukalazi 15 years.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *