Monday , September 25 2017
Home / SPORTS / Ochaya UPL’s best player, drives away a Subaru Forester

Ochaya UPL’s best player, drives away a Subaru Forester

Ochaya 1
Ochaya (right) all joy as he receives his car from UPL awards chief guest Maj Gen Kainerugaba. ALL PHOTOS KCCA

KCCA Football Club’s Joseph Ochaya was Friday named Azam Uganda Premier League (UPL) Player of the Year 2015/16 in a colorful ceremony at Serena Hotel, Kampala.

Chief guest was Special Forces Commander Major Gen Muhoozi Kainerugaba who handed Ochaya keys to the top award, a Subaru Forester.

Ochaya edged out Erisa Ssekisambu of Vipers and URA’s Robert Ssentongo for the honour.

Ochaya scored seven goals as KCCA lifted an eleventh championship while Ssentongo finished the football season as the golden boot winner with 18 goals. Viper’s Ssekisambu was second with 16 goals.

Mike Mutebi who guided KCCA to their league triumph was named  Coach of the Year in an event that also had awards for outstanding journalists and referees.

Maj Gen Kainerugaba hailed Ugandan football leaders, FUFA President Moses Magogo and UPL Board Chairman Arinaitwe Rugyendo, for recognising players’ achievements.

“Sports is a very good way of marketing the country as we see from other countries. I encourage all of us to support football and other sports. I wish you a fruitful 2016/17,” Kainerugaba said.

Ochaya 4 Ochaya 3 Ochaya 2 Ochaya 1 Subaru


2016 Uganda Premier Awards

Footballer of the Season (MVP): Joseph Ochaya (KCCA)

BEST X: Muwanga, D.Okot, J. Ochaya, H.Lwaliwa, Walangarira, Kayiwa, M. Mutyaba, R. Wandyaka, R. Ssentongo, E. Sekisambu,Kayizzi

Goalkeeper of the Season: Mathias Muwanga (Sadolin Paints)

Defender of the Season: Musa Walangalira (JMC Hippos)

Midfielder of the Season: Muzamiru Mutyaba (KCCA)

Top Scorer: Robert Ssentongo (URA) – 18 goals

Coach of the Season: Mike Mutebi (KCCA)

Goalkeeping coach of the Season: Kenneth Magada (Sadolin Paints)

Young Player of the Season: Halid Lwaliwa (Vipers)

Life Time Achievers Award: Hadji Abbas KAWAASI

Best Referee – Brian Miiro

Best Chief Executive Officer (CEO) – KCCA’s David Tamale

Best Sports Journalists

Television – Clive Kyazze

Radio – Martin Kaddu

Photography – John Batanudde

Print – Elvis Senono

Online- Ismael Kiyonga



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *