Monday , March 27 2023
Home / NEWS / ATHLETICS: Surprise winners at Uganda National Cross Country Championships in Jinja

ATHLETICS: Surprise winners at Uganda National Cross Country Championships in Jinja


Chelangat wins the women junior race in Jinja on Saturday. PHOTO VIA MTN

Jinja, Uganda | THE INDEPENDENT |  In the absence of fancied Joshua Cheptegei, long distance ace Thomas Ayeko took over the mantle as National Cross Country Men’s Champion in Jinja on Saturday after a photo finish with Phillip Kipyeko.

The two dominated the 10km men’s race at the national cross country event in Jinja, with Ayeko declared winner in 28:25.3 after crossing the line at the same time as last year’s runner up Kipyeko who was recorded at 28:25.3 minutes.

This year’s national cross country event had new winners in many of the categories. Sarah Chelangat stunned Peruth Chemutai to win the junior women’s 6km race in 19:18.9 while Victor Kiplangat took full advantage of the absence of World Junior champion Jacob Kipagat to win the the junior men’s 8km race in 22.48.8.

It was only Mercyline Chelangat who retained her title, wining the senior women’s race in 32.20.7 minutes, edging out Stella Chesang.

The Uganda Athletics Federation (UAF) will use the event to select the national cross country team to represent Uganda at the 5th edition of the Africa Cross Country Championships due March 17, 2018 in Algeria.

Joshua Cheptegei and Kiplimo are still expected to make the Ugandan team going by their performance on the international scene. Just last month, it was a 1-2 finish for Cheptegei and Kiplimo as they dominated one of the most prestigious Cross Country races,  the 36th Cross International de Italica.

The National Cross Country and three other National Trials have been lined up by the Uganda Athletics Federation in the course of the remaining two months to assist athletes beat the qualification deadline of March 3, 2018 for the Commonwealth Games.




Senior Men (10km)
1 Joshua Cheptegei 29:02
2 Phillip Kipyeko 29:24
3 Abdallah Kibet Mande 29:40
4 Timothy Toroitich 29:42
5 Stephen Kiprotich 29:46
6 Stephen Kiisa 29:53
7 Fred Musobo 29:55
8 Mande Bushendich 30:04
9 Peter Kibet 30:13
10 Filex Chemonges 30:18

Senior Women (10km)
1 Mercyline Chelangat 34:41
2 Rachael Chebet 35:16
3 Dorcus Ajok 35:46
4 Doreen Chesang 35:54
5 Doreen Chemutai 35:56
6 Annet Chebet 36:16
7 Juliet Chekwel 36:38
8 Stella Chesang 36:46
9 Prim Twikirize 37:00
10 Sarah Akiror 37:03

U20 Men
1 Jacob Kiplimo 23:25
2 Titus Kwemoi 23:53
3 Victor Kiplangat 23:54
4 Elisha Chemutai 24:03
5 Kevin Kibet 24:04

U20 Women

1 Peruth Chemutai  0:20:20
2 Janat Chemusto  0:20:39
3  Esther Chekwemoi  0:21:08

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *