Saturday , March 6 2021
Home / Tag Archives: Ministry of Local Government

Tag Archives: Ministry of Local Government

EC conducts elections in non functional sub counties and town councils

Kampala, Uganda | THE INDEPENDENT | Apac district authorities have raised concern over the decision by the Electoral Commission to conduct elections in newly created town councils and sub counties. Government recently created 364 sub-counties, 352 town councils and 10 cities country wide with the aim of taking services closer to …

Read More »

Masaka city leaders demand new law for cities

Masaka, Uganda | THE INDEPENDENT | The interim leadership of Masaka city is pushing for specific laws to govern the operations of the newly created cities. In April, Parliament approved the creation of Masaka, Jinja, Arua, Mbarara, Mbale, Gulu and Fort Portal Cities. Others including Entebbe, Moroto, Nakasongola, Kabale and …

Read More »

Local gov’t PS dispatches team to investigate corruption in Abim

 Abim, Uganda | THE INDEPENDENT | The Permanent Secretary Ministry of Local Government, Ben Kamumanya has sent a team to Abim district to investigate allegations of corruption, fraud and misuse of public funds. The team is led by Charles Mwijukye, the senior inspector Ministry of Local Government. It will investigate misuse …

Read More »

Electronic revenue management system yet to start in Mukono

Kampala, Uganda | THE INDEPENDENT | The pilot program of the new electronic revenue management system is yet to start in Mukono district. In 2017, the Ministry of Local Government rolled out the automated revenue management system aimed at increasing revenue collections. The online tool is used for local taxpayers’ …

Read More »

Civil servants in newly created cities to retain jobs

Fort Portal, Uganda | THE INDEPENDENT | The Commissioner of Urban Administration in the Ministry of Local Government, Justinian Niwagaba, has said that civil servants in municipalities that have been elevated to city status will retain their jobs. Last month, parliament approved the creation of 15 cities that will be …

Read More »