Sunday , June 26 2022
Home / ARTICLES 2008-2015 / “Rebel MPs” cannot be expelled from parliament: Kadaga

“Rebel MPs” cannot be expelled from parliament: Kadaga

By The Independent Team

The Speaker of Parliament has this afternoon made a ruling on the case of the former National Resistance Movement (NRM) Members of Parliament “rebel MPs”.

Speaker Rebecca Kadaga ruled that there was no legal and constitutional provision to expel the MPs from Parliament.

The MPs who include include Theodore Ssekikubo, Wilfred Nuwagaba, Barnabas Tinkasimire, and Mohammed Nsereko were expelled from the NRM Party after being found guilty by the party’s Central Executive Committee for malicious propaganda, decampaigning official party candidates in recently held by-elections, and working for foreign interests in oil and gas affairs.

The accused MPs denied the accusations and where noted as saying they were not ashamed of their crimes.

The MPs are likely to loose their places on any parliamentary committees they have been involved with since these are constituted based on the party considerations.

Ms Rebecca Kadaga, was the deputy speaker in August of 2005 in the 6th parliament when the Attorney General, Mr Khiddu Makubuya, moved the proposal providing for MPs to exit from Parliament after being expelled from their parties be deleted from the amendment Bill, a motion that was unanimously supported by the House.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *