Saturday , February 24 2018
Home / The News Today / Rose Akol, Musamali top NRM EALA race

Rose Akol, Musamali top NRM EALA race

NRM caucus Elects 6 for EALA as it vows to block all hostile opposition aspirants from the remaining 3 slots

Former Minister for Internal Affairs Rose Akol Okullo and Paul Musamali, a policy analyst in the office of government chief whip came top in Wednesday’s election to pick NRM flagbearers for the East African Legislative Assembly (EALA).

In the ruling National Resistance Movement (NRM) parliamentary caucus elections at State House, Musamali emerged top in a race that attracted over 30 candidates with 167 votes. The flag bearers will vie for six positions at the Uganda EALA elections slated for February 28,

Former Bukedea Woman MP Akol was second with 139 votes. She was followed by former Kakuuto MP Mathias Kasamba and former Lira district Resident District Commissioner George Stephen Odongo who tied with 119 votes.

The other two candidates are former State Minister for animal husbandry and former Nyabushozi MP Mary Mugenyi and the senior presidential advisor on youth affairs Dennis Namara.

These were declared by the party Electoral commission Chairman Dr.Tanga Odoi at State House Entebbe where the elections took place.





Janet Museveni votes in EALA elections for NRM members

Banyenzaki calls elections a sham

The elections first flopped on Tuesday after chaos erupted over disagreements on the number of candidates to be voted for.

The ruling party MPs opposed what they said was the electoral commission’s decision to count only six slots yet seven slots had been provided for. A vote recount was ordered .

Also of contention was the decision to follow regional balance which majority MPs opposed to it.  Former Butaleja MP Emmanuel Dombo at that point quit the race, citing unfairness in the process bringing the total of those who quit the race to 10.

Dombo returned after the rules were amended and all MPs were voted nationally choosing the best six that obtained the highest number of votes.

The amendment of the rules led to the withdrawal of more candidates from the race including the former Minister of state for economic monitoring in the office of the president Henry Banyenzaki who described the process as a sham.

“I cannot be party to this sham election. You cannot keep amending rules every now and then. The party had all the time. After all the president said EALA is not an employment bureau. I have other things to do I am not looking a job,” said Banyenzaki.

NRM vows to block all hostile opposition aspirants from the remaining 3 slots

After the elections, the Party’s Secretary General Justine Kasule Lumumba told the members that the six flag bearers shall be nominated at the office of the clerk of parliament Jane Kibirige on Thursday.

Lumumba reminded the members of the caucus to support all the candidates during the nomination process until the election date by the entire house on  February 28.

Lumumba also told members that they have a duty of ensuring that all hostile members of the opposition contesting for the remaining three positions do not make it to the regional assembly.

“This is politics. The opposition political parties have already sent flag bearers but you should remember that as a political party with the majority, we have to decide on who gets to EALA. We should only vote for those who are already to work with NRM,” said Lumumba.

President Yoweri Museveni, who also the chairman of the party, urged the newly elected EALA members to work towards the elimination of the existing hurdles that hamper trade between Uganda and its neighbors.

Museveni pointed out that the East African integration and removal of trade and non-tariff barriers can spur growth in the region and attract more investors.

He told the MPs that they have to enhance bilateral trade and commerce as a driver of wealth creation in the region.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *