Sunday , February 18 2018
Home / ARTICLES 2008-2015 / Inauguration of the COMESA Innovation council

Inauguration of the COMESA Innovation council

By Priscilla Muhairwe

The inauguration ceremony that took place at the UCC headquarters saw 10 African experts; which shows a break from the past when consultants would normally perform such advisory functions or experts from international agencies.

The former V.C of Makerere University Prof Venansius Baryamureba has a sit on the COMESA Innovation council.

The Prime Minister of the Republic of Uganda Rt. Hon Amama Mbabazi officiated at the ceremony and Minister of ICT Ruhakana Rugunda. The creation of the COMESA Innovation Council represents a landmark in Africa’s institutional history for two important reasons, first it is the first major political recognition of the critical role that technological innovation can play in enhancing Africa’s global competitiveness,

“It has been shown that Science, Technology and Innovation if properly harnessed, it can offer multitudes of opportunities for development in areas of importance for developing countries like those in our region,” says Amama.

He added, “The timing of the creation of the Council is particularly strategic and will shape its mandate and activities. Africa’s potential for transforming itself and the world market through emerging technologies lies in the very nature of being a technology latecomer,”

He also noted that, Mobile technology is on the verge of transforming other traditional industries including education, agriculture and health among others. In education, Africa can leapfrog into elearning to become a leading source of new educational businesses and industries.

The following are the members that were inaugurated into the COMESA Innovation Council, Dr. Aggrey Ambali from Malawi, Prof Chris Mutambirwa from Zimbabwe, Dr. Dhanjay Jhurry from Mauritius, Dr. Jonathan M. Tambatamba from Zambia, Prof Lydia Makhubu from Swaziland, Prof. Marie Claire Yandju from D.R.C, Prof. Meoli Kashurda from Kenya, Mr. Micheal Savy from Seychelles, Mr. Mohamed Elsayed Aboud from Egypt.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *