Wednesday , February 8 2023
Home / NEWS / Fleet-footed Uganda She Pearls leave Botswana girls in tears

Fleet-footed Uganda She Pearls leave Botswana girls in tears

A Botswana player is consoled after she broke down in tears after defeat to Uganda

Uganda ?? 46 – Botswana ??  42


Uganda vs Cook Islands 10am

Botswana vs Jamaica

Gabarone, Botswana| THE INDEPENDENT REPORTER |  Uganda’s She Pearls overcome a false start and a partisan crowd to beat Botswana in a hard-fought Netball World Youth Cup game at the UB Indoor Sports Arena on Monday.

Botswana, who started in command and took a 13-10 lead in the first quarter, were left stunned and in tears after the fleet-footed Ugandans fought back to snatch it by 4 baskets.

The Ugandan girls took charge after the first half, leading 24-23 at half time, before stretching it to 36-33 in 3rd quarter and ending Botswana’s unbeaten run.

Uganda next take on Cook Islands Tuesday, before battling group favourites Jamaica, who hammered Malaysia 70-22 Monday, and are also unbeaten.

Botswana will have to be at their very best if they are to avoid a second straight defeat when they come up against Jamaica

Ugandan girls celebrate their victory over Botswana today.

This is the first time the  International Netball Federation (INF) is holding an international event on the African continent.

The Netball World Youth Cup is the pinnacle of netball competition for emerging players who are under 21 years of age and the INF has held an U21 international competition every four years since 1988.

The tournament is featuring 9 days of netball, 70 games in total and 20 countries are competing from across the five INF regions.

The African countries competing are Uganda, South Africa, Zimbabwe and Botswana.

Pool C results & teams

Jamaica     43    Cook Islands 41
Botswana  72    Malaysia 26
Cook Islands 41 Botswana 50
Uganda     81    Malaysia 21

Jamaica    70 Malaysia 22
Uganda     46  Botswana 42

Cook Islands


Year Location Winner
1988 Canberra, Australia Australia
1992 Suva, Fiji New Zealand
1996 Toronto, Canada Australia
2000 Cardiff, Wales Australia
2005 Fort Lauderdale, USA New Zealand
2009 Rarotonga, Cook Islands Australia
2013 Glasgow, Scotland New Zealand
2017 Botswana


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *