Thursday , February 9 2023
Home / SPORTS / FINAL DAY: One shot separates Babirye from Kabasweka

FINAL DAY: One shot separates Babirye from Kabasweka

LEADING: Babirye has won it before. PHOTO Uganda Golf Times Facebook

✳ Uganda Ladies GOLF Open 2022

Tee off time 12.30pm – Hole 1
1 – Martha BABIRYE 🇺🇬 +11
2 – Peace KABASWEKA 🇺🇬 +12
3 – Meron KYOMUGISHA 🇺🇬 +20
4 – Evah MAGALA 🇺🇬 +23

Kigo, Uganda | LOUIS JADWONG  |  Peace Kabasweka can win her first Tusker Malt Uganda Ladies Golf Open title today if she can repeat what she did on Friday — improve her score by a shot or two.

Kabasweka kept it simple for a second straight day, stringing together a record 13 pars to put herself one shot away from the leader and former champion Martha Babirye. Kabasweka’s Friday score of 77, was two better than her day-one score.

With Kabasweka at 156 strokes after 36 holes, and Babirye at 155, all indications are that the title will go to one of the two players. They are the only ones who have scored in the 70s at the par 72 Lake Victoria Serena Golf Resort and Spa in Kigo.

The champion of the 2022 Tusker Malt Uganda Ladies Golf Open could be decided by one moment of magic, which Babirye has already shown she is capable of.

Babirye, winner in 2019 and 2020, has managed two birdies in each of her two days of golf, most crucially in the final 9 on Friday.

“Everything was getting right until the double bogey on 17 and 18. I hope to improve coming to the final round,” Babirye told Kawowo Sports.

That ‘birdie magic’ eluded Kabasweka Friday after her two on day one, but she will look to consistency. It could be the pars, not the glorious birdies, that will give her the long sought after glory that the Uganda Ladies Open provides.

Running concurrently to the Open will be a subsidiary event that tees off at 7am. It has attracted some of the country’s top amateur golfers mainly from Uganda Golf Club, and the nearby Entebbe Golf Club.

Ladies Open – How it stands:

1 BABIRYE, MARTHA       UGANDA GOLF CLUB      +11     75          80       155

2 KABASWEKA, PEACE   TORO CLUB                     +12     79          77       156

3 KYOMUGISHA, MERON PALM & COUNTRY CLUB +20     82          82       164

4 MAGALA, EVAH             UGANDA GOLF CLUB      +23     80          87       167

5 MBAGUTA, GLORIA      PALM & COUNTRY CLUB +24     81          87       168

Past Ladies Open winners

2021 – Irene Nakalembe (Uganda)
2020 – Martha Babirye (Uganda)
2019 –  Martha Babirye (Uganda)
2018 – Neema Olomi (Tanzania)
2017 – Angel Eaton (Tanzania)
2016 – Flavia Namakula (Uganda)
2015 – Flavia Namakula (Uganda)
2014 – Flavia Namakula (Uganda)
2013 – Angel Eaton (Tanzania)
2012 – Angel Eaton (Tanzania)
2011 – Flavia Namakula (Uganda)

CLICK for live scores

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *