Wednesday , December 1 2021
Home / SPORTS / Uganda Cranes invites ‘Mo’ Opondo for Niger tourney

Uganda Cranes invites ‘Mo’ Opondo for Niger tourney



Mo and FUFA boss Magogo in 2015. PHOTO FUFA MEDIA

Kampala, Uganda | THE INDEPENDENT | Federation of Uganda Football Associations (FUFA) has called 23 players for a three-nation tournament due in Niger, West Africa.

Uganda Cranes head coach Sebastian Desabre has included Danish based winger Moses “Mo” Opondo who features at Vendsyssel Football Club.

“Mo” gets his first call up, three years after he visited the country and confirmed his availability to the Federation of Uganda Football Associations (FUFA) President, Eng. Moses Magogo

Uganda Cranes head coach Sebastian Desabre addressed the media Wednesday and named the 23 man squad that will be used for the two international warm up matches coming up between 27th May to 3rd June 2018.

‘The main objective of this training camp is to have the players gel together in preparation for the four AFCON 2019 qualification matches between September and November 2018.’ Desabre noted.

Uganda will face Central African Republic on May 30th before battling the hosts on June 2. The summoned players are expected to depart the country on the 26th May 2018.

“Although the games will not be played during a FIFA international friendly window period, they will help me continue to assess the players as we plan for the 2019 Total Africa Cup of Nations (Afcon) qualifier,” Desabre told URN.

Uganda Cranes kick started the 2019 Afcon qualifying campaign with a vital 1-0 Group L win away to Cape Verde last year. In September they will host Tanzania before facing Lesotho the following month.

Meanwhile, the FUFA Communications manager Ahmed Hussein informed the media about the latest updates concerning the Uganda U-20 national team (The Hippos) ahead of the return leg for the CAF U-20 qualifiers.

The team of 18 players and 6 officials will depart the country on Thursday early morning for Cameroon.


Denis Onyango 1985 33 Mamelodi Sundowns South Africa
Charles Lukwago 1994 23 KCCA Uganda
Jamal Salim 1995 23 Al Merreikh Sudan
Denis Iguma 1994 24 Al-Nabi Shayth Lebanon
Nicholas Wadada 1994 24 Vipers Uganda
Murushid Jjuko 1994 24 Simba Tanzania
Bevis Mugabi 1995 23 Yeovil Town England
Timothy Awanyi 1996 22 KCCA Uganda
Geofrey Walusimbi 1990 28 Gor Mahia Kenya
Isaac Muleme 1992 26 Assiouty Egypt
Joseph Ochaya 1993 25 Lusaka Dynamos F.C. Zambia
Hassan Wasswa 1988 30 El Geish Egypt
Khalid Aucho 1993 25 East Bengal India
Taddeo Lwanga 1995 23 Vipers Uganda
Luwagga Kizito 1993 25 CSMS Iaşi Romania
Milton Karisa 1995 23 Vipers Uganda
AllanKateregga 1994 24 Cape Town South Africa
Faruku Miya 1997 21 Standard Liège Belgium
Moses Opondo 1997 21 Vendsyssel Denmark
Emmanuel Okwi 1992 26 Simba Tanzania
Yunus Sentamu 1994 24 Tirana Albania
E.drisa Lubega 1998 20 Floridsdorfer AC Austria
Mohammad Shaban 1998 20 KCCA Uganda



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *