Monday , August 8 2022
Home / NEWS / Opposition MPs condemn new NRM Buganda caucus executive

Opposition MPs condemn new NRM Buganda caucus executive

NRM in Kyankwanzi. PHOTO via @NRMOnline

Kampala, Uganda | THE INDEPENDENT | Opposition Members of Parliament in Buganda have criticized the election of the National Resistance Movement-NRM Buganda Caucus executive committee.

On Sunday, the Buganda NRM MPs sitting at the National Leadership Institute (NALI) in Kyankwanzi elected a seven-member executive committee.

The new executive is chaired by Kabula County MP James Kakooza and will be deputized by Nakaseke South MP Syda Bumba.

According to a statement issued by Rogers Mulindwa, the NRM Senior Information Manager, the other members on the new executive are Bukoo South MP Muyanja Mbabaali (Treasurer), Bukoto Mid-West MP Kasozi Muyomba (Secretary), Kasanda South MP Simeo Nsubuga (Publicity Secretary), Bukuya County MP Michael Bukenya (Committee Member), Government Chief Whip Ruth Nankabirwa (Ex-Official) and Foreign Affairs Minister Sam Kahamba Kuteesa as the Patron.

According to Mulindwa, the committee was elected to coordinate party activities among themselves in Parliament. It will also be tasked to lobby programs and projects from government to benefit the people of Buganda.

Simeo Nsubuga, committee’s Publicity Secretary said that the leadership of Buganda Parliamentary Caucus still exists comprising all MPs from Buganda regardless of their political affiliation.

However, a section of opposition legislators expressed concern over the new committee.

Masaka Municipality MP, Matthias Mpuuga said that the move is suspicious and will be resisted and frustrated.

Rubaga North MP Moses Kasibante labelled the committee is an attempt by the NRM Buganda MPs to secede from the mainstream Buganda parliamentary caucus chaired by Mukono North MP Johnson Muyanja Ssenyonga.

He accused President Yoweri Museveni of attempting to further his own personal agenda in Buganda.

Kasibante alleges that the new committee group plans to defeat Buganda interests in parliament.

Nakaseke South MP Lutamaguzi Ssemakula said that he was not surprised by actions of MPs. He alleges that their action was to counter a refusal by the Buganda Parliamentary Caucus Chairperson Johnson Muyanja Ssenyonga to move President Museveni’s sole candidature motion.

Busujju County MP David Kalwanga, the Treasurer of Buganda Parliamentary Caucus said that the new named NRM Executive was just diversionary.

The Mpigi Woman MP Sarah Nakawunde, the Vice Chairperson of Buganda Parliamentary Caucus defended her NRM counterparts saying that they have not elected a parallel executive but rather a committee for NRM MPs from Buganda region.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *