Sunday , February 25 2018
Home / News / Bamugemereire Land Commission resumes work Monday

Bamugemereire Land Commission resumes work Monday

Justice Bamugemereire

Kampala, Uganda| THE INDEPENDENT | The Commission of Inquiry into land matters will resume its public hearings on Monday July 24, two weeks after it took a technical break.

“We have made progress regarding obtaining the resources the Commission requires to do its work and now feel that we are in position to proceed,” Commission Lead Counsel,  Ebert Byenkya said.

In a statement released July 22, Byekya said the Minister of Finance Matia Kasaija had given a firm confirmation to the Commission that the resources to enable it do its work, in line with the agreed work plan, would be made available shortly.

“The commission has cordial and constructive interactions with the Ministry of Finance and the other government agencies,” added Byenkya.

During the break, the commission registered 160 new complaints from members of the public and most of them were reviewed and selected for the public hearings this week.

The commissioners also commenced the preparation of the Interim Report, which they are required to submit to the President of Uganda within a period of three months from May 9 when the commission commenced the public hearing. Byenkya however, said the interruption of the hearings might affect the submission date.

“We thank members of the public for their patience and support for the activities of the commission and assure them of continued dedicated service to the nation,” said  Byenkya.

The seven-member commission is to inquire into the effectiveness of law, policies and processes of land acquisition, land administration, land management and land registration in Uganda.

Appointed by President Yoweri Museveni on December 8, 2016 and sworn in at State House-Entebbe, on February 21, the Commission has a six-month mandate to submit its final findings and recommendations to the President.

The committee comprises:

Chairperson: Lady Justice Catherine Bamugemereire; Members: Owekitiibwa Robert Ssebunnya, Mrs. Mary Oduka Ochan, Mrs. Joyce Gunze Habaasa, Dr. Rose Nakayi, Hon. Fredrick Ruhindi, and Mr. George Bagonza Tinkamanyire; Support team: Mrs. Olive Kazaarwe Mukwaya (Commission Secretary), Dr. Douglas Singiza (Assistant SecretaryResearch), Mr. Ebert Byenkya (Lead Counsel) and Mr. John Bosco Rujagaata Suuza (Assistant Lead Counsel).


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *