Tuesday , August 9 2022
Home / NEWS / Contractor of two Seed schools in Bunyoro accused of shoddy work

Contractor of two Seed schools in Bunyoro accused of shoddy work

Minister Ogwang (right) and officials inspecting facilities in Kagadi District.

Hoima, Uganda | THE INDEPENDENT | Kwik Build Contractors and Engineers are on the spot over shoddy work at Kigorobya seed secondary school in Hoima district and Nyairongo Seed Secondary school in Kikuube district.

The company owned by Patrick Isagara, a resident of Hoima City is accused of executing shoddy works on the two projects.  During his impromptu visit to monitor different government projects in Bunyoro, the State Minister for Economic Monitoring Peter Ogwang discovered several defects on the buildings even before they are commissioned.

Ogwang noted that Nyairongo seed secondary school had developed big cracks on the floor, in the laboratory and on the ceiling.  Though there are still uncompleted works on the project, the contractor was paid 98% of the 1.8 billion Shillings.

Ogwang noted that the walls have also developed cracks adding that the material used during the construction was substandard.

According to Ogwang, similar defects were discovered at Kigorobya seed secondary school which was constructed at 1 Billion Shillings.

Ogwang demanded that the Ministry of Education carry out a forensic audit on most of the government projects implemented by Kwik Build Contractors. He vowed to petition Public Procurement and Disposal of Public Assets to ensure that the company is blacklisted on the list of companies doing work with the government.

Isagara, the proprietor declined to respond to our repeated phone calls.

Julius Hakiza, the Albertine region police spokesperson says that Isagara has been summoned to record a statement at the police station.

On Wednesday, seven Kikuube district officials were arrested for alleged corruption and abuse of office on the orders of Ogwang.

The officials are Flavia Nabwire, the Assistant Chief Administrative Officer, Emmy Arinaitwe, the District Engineer, Julian Kusiima, the Chief Finance Officer, Moses Irumba, the district internal officer and Nicholas Kwikiriza, the District Health Officer.

The others are Deogratius Byakagaba, the district Education officer and Hillary Agondeze, the district water Engineer.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *