Friday , February 28 2020
Home / ARTICLES 2008-2015 / CCM’s Magufuli Wins Tanzania’s Presidential Elections

CCM’s Magufuli Wins Tanzania’s Presidential Elections

The National Electoral Commission (NEC) of Tanzania has declared CCM’s Dr. John Pombe Magufuli as the winner of the recently concluded Presidential Elections. Magufuli garnered 8,882,935 votes (58.16%) against Edward Lowassa’s 6,072,848 votes (39.97%). Lowassa was representing the opposition party of CHADEMA. However, Lowassa has contested the results, filed an official petition and withdrawn his tallying agents from the whole exercise citing massive irregularities.

In the Parliamentary Elections, CCM still won the majority seats with 188 seats going to the party, 39 going to CUF, 35 to CHADEMA and 2 to both ACT and NCCR. The turnout in this election stood at 67%. The international election observers of EU, AU, SADC, and EAC have issued a verdict saying the election in Tanzania was free, fair, peaceful and transparent even though EU has earlier questioned the poll’s transparency and CCM’s abuse of state resources.

NEC will provide Magufuli with the certificates confirming his victory. Magufuli will become Tanzania’s fifth President replacing the outgoing President, Jakaya Kikwete.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *