Saturday , February 22 2020
Home / News / Cabinet approves creation of 9 new cities

Cabinet approves creation of 9 new cities



A street in Lira. Lira is on the short list for future regional city status. PHOTO PPU

Kampala, Uganda | THE INDEPENDENT | Cabinet has approved the creation of nine cities, five of which will become operational on July 1, 2020.

These cities include Arua, Gulu, Jinja, Fort Portal, and Mbarara which will be elevated from municipal status. The others are Hoima and Mbale which will become operational on July 1 2021.

The move is part of a government decision to  turn nine municipalities into regional cities. They include Fort Portal, Mbarara and Hoima from Western Uganda; Entebbe from the Central region; Lira, Arua and Gulu from the Northern region, and Mbale and Jinja from the Eastern Region.

According to the Minister of Local Government, Tom Butime, the cabinet meeting that was chaired by President Museveni in Entebbe on Monday, resolved that the municipalities will be elevated in a phased manner.

A budget of 130 billion Shillings was set aside for the operations of the cities after meeting all the requirements.

In February, a technical team led by the Commissioner of Urban Administration from the Ministry of Local Government, Justinian Niwagaba on a mission in fort portal noted that all regional cities will have two divisions.

Niwagaba added that each division will have a Member of Parliament – MP and an overall MP for each city.





  1. Where is Masaka? Is this not discrimination against us, kabisa? NRM don’t come to ask for our votes

  2. That picture is misleading. It is ARUA not LIRA. The two are about 300kms apart!

  3. Seed of nepotism hinders development. Pleaseeeeee…

    That’s how Uganda started with creation of districts.
    Now whom do we blame?

  4. Lira is northern city what’s up

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *